AIBF announces 2018 shortlist

S c r o l l D o w n

The shortlist for the Accra International Book Festival (AIBF)’s 2018 First Book Award and Independent Writers Award is announced today.

The AIBF Book Awards is open to writers of any nationality writing in English and French and whose work can reshape the mindset of the world.

This year’s list features the work of four women and a man, covering fiction, poetry and non-fiction.

First Book Award

Author (country/territory)                         Title (imprint)

Celestine Nudanu (Ghana)                        Haiku Rhapsodies (Verses from Ghana)

Brooke C. Obie (USA)                              Book of Addis: Cradled Embers

Independent Writers Award

Author (country/territory)                         Title (imprint)

Ayesha Harunna Attah (Ghana)                The Hundred Wells of Salaga

Ruby Yahyra Goka (Ghana)                      In the Middle of Nowhere

Dr Matthew Karikari-Ababio (Ghana)      Dynamics of Persistent Underdevelopment: The Case of Ghana

Brooke C. Obie (USA)                              Book of Addis: Cradled Embers

Ruby Yahyra Goka (Ghana)                      Perfectly Imperfect

The shortlist was selected by a three-member panel of judges with wide experience in writing, editing, culture, and journalism.

The 2018 winner announcement

The 2018 winner for both categories will be announced on Monday 31 December 2018. The award ceremony that will bring together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the cultural world will be in 2019.

Further events will be announced in due course.

2 comments on “AIBF announces 2018 shortlist

  1. I am Dr. Matthew Karikari- Ababio, author of the Dynamics of Persistent Underdevelopment: The Case of Ghana, 2017, what next?

    1. Hi Dr Karikari-Ababio;

      The winners of the 2018 AIBF Literary Awards have been declared already and the award ceremony has taken place. Please find stories about the ceremony online. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 Accra International Book Festival - An Accra Literary Festival