AIBF Literary Awards renamed Lade Wosornu Prize for Literature

S c r o l l D o w n




We would like to announce to the public that our annual literary awards known as the AIBF Literary Awards will be named after retired Ghanaian surgeon and poet, Professor Lade Wosornu.

The literary prize will now be called the Lade Wosornu Prize for Literature.

This change in name does not affect the components of the literary prize now in its second year.  The awards include the First Book Award, Reading Promoters Award and the Independent Writer’s Award.

The now Lade Wosornu Prize for Literature was instituted in 2018 to celebrate the works of young and established writers that have the power to reshape the world for good.

Previous winners include; ace Ghanaian broadcast journalist and host of StandPoint, Oheneyire Gifty Anti, host of Citi Breakfast Show, Bernard Koku Avle, Sports Editor at Peace FM, Dan Kweku Yeboah and poet Celestine Nudanu.

The renaming of the literary awards is our giant commitment toward the celebration of Ghanaians who have contributed to repositioning the country on the global literary map.

We need to celebrate these men and women as a way of sparking a literary revolution in Ghana and beyond.

About Professor Lade Wosornu

Professor Lade Wosornu is a renowned academic who has three collections of poetry works to his credit; Ete & Other Poems, Celestial Bride & Other Poems and Journey Without Ends & Other Poems.

Some of his poems include Desert Rivers, The Master Brewer, and Journey Without End among others. As a constant voice in Ghana’s literary landscape, Professor Wosornu has contributed essays and articles on major health issues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019 Accra International Book Festival - An Accra Literary Festival
Please wait...

Sign up

We send regular e-bulletins with news and offers. Keep up to date.